Licchavi Lyceum


Licchavi Lyceum

Important Sessions of Indian National Congress

Important sessions of the Indian National Congress:

Session Year Key Outcomes
First Session 1885 Formation of the Indian National Congress.
Calcutta Session 1906 Demand for Swaraj (self-government) within the British Empire.
Surat Session 1907 Split between the extremists and moderates in the Congress.
Lucknow Session 1916 Reunification of the extremists and moderates. Congress-League Pact for joint political action.
Bombay Session 1917 Adoption of the Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms as Congress policy.
Delhi Session 1918 Demand for complete independence (Swaraj) from British rule.
Amritsar Session 1919 Condemnation of the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre.
Nagpur Session 1920 Non-Cooperation Movement launched with Gandhiji as its leader.
Gaya Session 1922 Gandhi’s withdrawal of the Non-Cooperation Movement.
Madras Session 1927 Adoption of the “Nehru Report” advocating dominion status for India.
Lahore Session 1929 Adoption of the “Purna Swaraj” (Complete Independence) resolution.
Karachi Session 1931 Participation in the Second Round Table Conference in London.
Tripuri Session 1939 Resignation of Subhas Chandra Bose from the Congress.
Ramgarh Session 1940 The Congress demands the British leave India.
Bombay Session (Quit India) 1942 Launch of the Quit India Movement.
Delhi Session 1948 Condemnation of Mahatma Gandhi’s assassination and commitment to his ideals.
Jaipur Session 1949 Adoption of the Constitution of the Indian National Congress.

Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and the Indian National Congress has held numerous sessions throughout its history, each contributing to India’s struggle for independence and the evolution of its political landscape.