Licchavi Lyceum


Licchavi Lyceum

Making of the Indian Constitution

The making of the Indian Constitution is hailed as a remarkable milestone in the history of independent India. Crafted through meticulous deliberations and visionary leadership, the Indian Constitution is a testament to the aspirations and ideals of a diverse nation. In this article, we will discuss the fascinating journey of the making of the Indian Constitution, highlighting the key contributors, the process involved, and the enduring significance of this historic document.

Making of the Indian Constitution

1. Background and Historical Context

Following India’s independence from British colonial rule in 1947, the need arose to establish a comprehensive framework for governance that would uphold democratic principles and protect the rights and freedoms of all citizens. The Indian National Congress, led by visionary leaders like Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallabhbhai Patel, and B.R. Ambedkar, spearheaded the initiative to draft a constitution that would serve as the foundation of the newly independent nation.

2. The Constituent Assembly

The Constituent Assembly, comprising elected representatives from across the country, was established to draft the Indian Constitution. Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as its president, and B.R. Ambedkar was appointed as the chairman of the drafting committee.

The making of the Indian Constitution involved extensive deliberations, debates, and consultations among the members of the Constituent Assembly. Various committees and sub-committees were formed to address different aspects of the constitution, including fundamental rights, citizenship, federalism, and the distribution of powers between the central and state governments.

Drafting Committee

The Drafting Committee was responsible for the actual drafting of the Constitution. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar was the chairman of the committee.

  1. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar (Chairman)
  2. N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar
  3. Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer
  4. K.M. Munshi
  5. Syed Mohd. Saadulla
  6. B.L. Mitter
  7. D.P. Khaitan

3. Incorporation of Ideas and Influences

The framers of the Indian Constitution drew inspiration from various sources and constitutional models from around the world. They incorporated elements from the constitutions of several countries, such as the United States, Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom, while also considering India’s unique social, cultural, and political context.

4. Key Features and Pillars

The Indian Constitution is renowned for its key features and pillars that establish the democratic framework of the nation. These include fundamental rights, the principle of equality, secularism, federalism, separation of powers, and an independent judiciary. The Constitution upholds the values of justice, liberty, equality, and fraternity as the guiding principles of the nation.

5. Adoption and Enactment

After nearly three years of deliberations, the final draft of the Indian Constitution was adopted on November 26, 1949. It came into effect on January 26, 1950, marking the official establishment of the Republic of India. This date is now celebrated annually as Republic Day, commemorating the adoption of the Constitution.


The making of the Indian Constitution stands as a testament to the unwavering commitment of the founding fathers of independent India. The Constituent Assembly’s tireless efforts, extensive deliberations, and visionary leadership culminated in a constitution that reflects the aspirations and values of a diverse and democratic nation. The Indian Constitution continues to serve as the bedrock of Indian democracy, safeguarding the rights and freedoms of its citizens and guiding the nation towards progress and inclusive development.

Important Links