Licchavi Lyceum


Licchavi Lyceum

When Bihar separated from Bengal?

Bihar was separated from Bengal on March 22, 1912. The decision to separate Bihar and Orissa (now Odisha) from the Bengal Presidency was part of the larger administrative reorganization carried out by the British colonial government in India. The goal was to create smaller, more manageable provinces for better governance and administrative efficiency. Lets discuss When Bihar separated from Bengal?

When Bihar separated from Bengal

The partition led to the formation of the new province of Bihar and Orissa, with its capital initially at Patna. This separation was significant in the context of regional identity and administration, allowing for more focused attention on the development and governance of the specific regions that constituted Bihar and Orissa. Later, in 1936, Bihar and Orissa were officially split into separate provinces, and Bihar emerged as an independent province within British India.

Read: BPSC Exam Solved Question Paper